Case report: Devic's disease

Patient K., 45 years old, male, applied to Tomografiya Medical Centre with complaints about progressive deterioration of vision.

First complaints occurred 1.5 years ago. The man repeatedly applied to an ophthalmologist and was examined at the department of ophthalmology of one of the clinical hospitals in Minsk. No eye disorders were detected.

The presence of abnormal masses was not detected on an MR image of the brain obtained using a 1.5 Tesla MR imaging system. For the record, the examination was preformed twice: Non-enhanced and contrast enhanced MRI.

When the patient applied to Tomografiya Medical Centre, he was referred for MRI of the brain and demyelination protocol using a 3 Tesla MRI system.

The results were evaluated at a multidisciplinary team meeting by the head of the MRI unit, an MRI technologist and a neurologist of the highest category. Upon close examination of thin slices of the brain image, a demyelination process was suspected in the area of optic chiasm.

After the second consultation of our neurologist, the patient was diagnosed as follows: Neuromyelitis optica (Devic's disease). The man was referred to a hospital for a course of special treatment.


P.S. Neuromyelitis optica, or Devic's disease, is a severe demyelinating disorder that was until recently considered a variant of multiple sclerosis, but now it is identified as a separate disease.

The disease most often occurs in adult patients. On average, the first symptoms occur at the age of 40 years or later. Women are more often affected.  Manifestations of neuromyelitis optica include bilateral neuritis (myelitis) of the optic nerve, blindness and paraplegia (palsy of the upper or lower extremities). As a rule, these symptoms occur at the same time, but often one manifestation precedes another. In addition, there are cases associated with unilateral lesion of the optic nerve.

Клинический случай: болезнь Девика

Пациент К., 45 лет, мужчина, обратился в медицинский центр «Томография» с жалобами на прогрессирующее ухудшение зрения.

Впервые жалобы возникли 1,5 года назад. Мужчина неоднократно обращался к офтальмологу и был обследован в одном из офтальмологических отделений клинической больницы г. Минска. При этом изменений со стороны органа зрения обнаружено не было.

Наличие патологических образований не показала и проведенная магнитно-резонансная томография головного мозга на сканере 1,5 Тесла. Исследование, к слову, было проведено дважды: МРТ без контрастного усиления и с введением контрастного вещества.

Когда пациент обратился в медицинский центр «Томография», его направили на МРТ головного мозга и протокол «Демиелинизация» на сканере с напряжением 3 Тесла.

Полученные результаты были оценены консилиумом врачей в составе заведующей кабинетом МРТ, врача МРТ и невролога высшей категории. При тщательном изучении тонких сканов головного мозга у пациента заподозрен процесс демиелинизации в области хиазмы зрительного нерва.

После повторной консультации у невролога центра пациенту выставлен диагноз: Оптикомиелит Девика. Мужчина направлен в стационар для проведения курса специального лечения.


P.S. Оптикомиелит Девика - это тяжелый демиелинизирующий недуг, который еще недавно воспринимали как вариант рассеянного склероза, но сейчас он выделен в отдельное заболевание.

Болезнь чаще всего возникает в зрелом возрасте. В среднем первые симптомы появляются после 40 лет Чаще страдают им женщины. Проявлениями оптикомиелита являются двусторонний неврит (миелит) зрительного нерва, слепота и параплегия (паралич верхних или нижних конечностей). Обычно эти симптомы встречаются в одно и то же время, но нередко одно проявление предшествует другому. Кроме того, известны случаи заболевания с односторонним поражением зрительного нерва.