Case report: pituitary adenoma

Patient K., 17 years old, applied to Tomografiya Medical Centre for a neurologist's consultation with complaints about rapid weight gain, stretch marks on the stomach, depressed mood, fatigue, fainting with cramps in the arms and legs.

Three years ago, with the onset of puberty, the girl, being of an asthenic constitution, suddenly began to gain weight quickly. Six months later, she fainted for the first time. Fainting became recurrent, and later were accompanied by tonic tension in the arms and legs and cyanosis (blue discolouration) of the lips.

Parents repeatedly sought medical help. A CT of the brain was performed, but no pathologies were detected.

After the examination, the neurologist of Tomografiya Medical Centre referred the patient for an MRI of the brain.

Upon close examination of the MR images obtained, a multidisciplinary team meeting of the specialists of Tomografiya Medical Centre suggested the presence of pituitary adenoma (tumour), which was visualised using an MR system with a magnetic field strength of 3 Tesla.

The girl was referred for a consultation of our endocrinologist and neurosurgeon. Unfortunately, the diagnosis was confirmed; fortunately, in a timely manner. The patient will undergo a scheduled surgery.

Tomografiya Medical Centre wishes the patient a quick recovery from the bottom of our hearts!

P.S. Pituitary adenoma is a hidden and dangerous disease that modern medicine cannot prevent. The pituitary gland is surrounded by vital areas of the brain, large vessels and nerves, therefore adenoma may lead to severe endocrinological and neurological consequences. Nevertheless, in many cases this tumour responds to treatment, and the key thing to do is to consult a doctor in a timely manner.

The earlier you seek medical help, the more likely is a positive outcome in the treatment of a disease!

Клинический случай: аденома гипофиза

Пациентка К., 17 лет, обратилась в медицинский центр «Томография» за консультацией невролога с жалобами на стремительный набор веса, растяжки на животе, подавленное настроение, высокую утомляемость, обмороки с судорогами в руках и ногах.

Три года назад с началом полового созревания девочка, будучи астеничного телосложения, внезапно начала быстро полнеть. Через полгода она впервые упала в обморок. Обмороки стали повторяться неоднократно, а позже сопровождаться тоническим напряжением в руках и ногах и цианозом (посинением) губ.

Родители неоднократно обращались за медицинской помощью. Проводилось КТ-исследование головного мозга подростку, но патологий выявлено не было.

После осмотра невролог медицинского центра «Томография» назначил пациентке МРТ-исследование головного мозга.

При тщательном изучении полученных в процессе сканирования изображений консилиумом специалистов клиники «Томография» было выдвинуто предположение о наличии аденомы (опухоли) гипофиза, которую удалось визуализировать благодаря томографу с напряженностью 3 Тесла.

Девочка была направлена на консультацию к эндокринологу и нейрохирургу, которые работают в нашем центре. К сожалению, диагноз подтвержден, к счастью -  своевременно. В плановом порядке пациентка будет прооперирована. 

Медицинский центр «Томография» от всей души желает пациентке скорейшего выздоровления!

P.S. Аденома гипофиза – скрытое и опасное заболевание, предупредить которое современная медицина не может. Гипофиз расположен в окружении жизненно важных участков мозга, крупных сосудов и нервов, поэтому аденома может привести к тяжелым эндокринологическим и неврологическим последствиям. Тем не менее эта опухоль во многих случаях поддается лечению, главное - вовремя обратиться к врачу.

Чем раньше Вы обратитесь к врачу, тем больше вероятность положительного исхода в лечении того или иного заболевания!